Follow Vogue Man Arabia

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne Wins PFA Player of the Year

Kevin De Bruyne


Belgium professional footballer, Kevin De Bruyne has been named the PFA Players’ Player of the Year for 2020. The Manchester City F.C. midfielder is the club’s first recipient of the prestigious award.

De Bruyne beat out fellow footballers, teammate Raheem Sterling and Liverpool F.C. stars Trent Alexander-Arnold, captain Jordan Henderson, Sadio Mane, and last year’s recipient Virgil Van Dijk for the PFA’s top honor.

The Player of the Year award is the annual award given by the Professional Players’ Association to the player who is judged to be the best in English football. English club Manchester City’s star midfielder, De Brune, expressed his gratitude and honor of receiving the award. “To be voted by your colleagues, your competitors from other teams who we play against on the field is amazing.” De Bruyne said at the virtual ceremony. “I think it is [the ultimate honor] because you compete against them [fellow professionals]. They want to win trophies; they want to be the best. It is everybody voting, not a few players, so that means you have done really well in the season.”

View this post on Instagram

PFA Players' Player of the year 🏆

A post shared by Kevin De Bruyne (@kevindebruyne) on

Also Read: “I Really Suffered” – Footballer Neymar Jr Reflects In Exclusive Interview

De Bruyne was also featured in the PFA Team of the Year, joined by previous Manchester City teammate David Silva. While it was no surprise that Manchester City’s formidable player De Bruyne received the top prize for his incredible season, it was rivals Liverpool who dominated the PFA Team of the Year. Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk, Jordan Henderson, Sadio Mane, and defensive duo Trent Alexander-Arnold and Andy Robertson commanded the list. Liverpool’s “local-lad” Trent Alexander-Arnold, 21, received the PFA Young Player of the Year Award.

View this post on Instagram

Humbled. Thank you. 🏆

A post shared by Trent Alexander-Arnold (@trentarnold66) on

Liverpool has had a momentous campaign for the 2019-20 Season of the Premier League. The team’s astounding season saw them break, or tie several English top-flight football records, including the biggest point lead at any time. Liverpool finished the season as Premier League winners, a historic moment ending the club’s 30-year league-title drought.

Read Next: Who Will Win the US Open After Novak Djokovic’s Shocking Disqualification?

View All
Vogue Collection