Follow Vogue Man Arabia

Egyptian Liverpool Star Mohamed Salah Makes PFA Premier League Team of the Year

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah training with Premier League team Liverpool Football Club. Photo: Instagram/ @liverpoolfc

Egyptian Liverpool player Mohamed Salah’s performances have led him to feature in the Professional Footballers’ Association Premier League Team of the Year for the 2020/21 season, which is voted for by fellow players and professionals across the country.

It is Salah’s second inclusion in the annual Team of the Year in his four seasons with the Reds to date, having also featured in the Premier League XI in 2017-2018.

Experiencing a great campaign in terms of personal records and numbers as with 22 goals, the 28-year-old footballer has helped the Reds earn the Champions League qualification.

The Liverpool forward, most responsible for scoring goals during a game, also provided five assists in the top-flight season as German football manager Jürgen Klopp’s side claimed third place. Salah took to social media to celebrate this.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Mohamed Salah (@mosalah)

In total, Salah found the back of the net 31 times in 51 appearances during the campaign, taking his overall tally for the club to 125 – the 12th-highest figure in history.

Salah has also received numerous accolades in light of his success at Liverpool, including the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award for the 2017/18 season. The same season saw the sportsman awarded the Premier League Golden Boot, an award for the leading goalscorer in the league, which he also won the following season after coming one place behind Tottenham Hotspur player Harry Kane. Last year, Salah equaled Cristiano Ronaldo’s Premier League goal scoring record of achieving 84 goals in the competition in 65 fewer games.

The rest of the team has been dominated by Premier League winners Manchester City, as Ederson, Joao Cancelo, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, and Ilkay Gundogan were Everton’s representatives in the Premier League XI.

Tottenham duo Kane and Son Heung-min, alongside Bruno Fernandes and Luke Shaw from Manchester United, occupied the final four spots in the team. Despite winning the Champions League and the Football Association Challenge Cup, no Chelsea or Leicester City players were included in the team.

The full list of members in the 2020-21 PFA Premier League Team of the Year can be found here:

View All
Vogue Collection